June Teenth Update: Good Motherfucking News.

Okay, so in my feverish pursuit of an actual writing gig, I’ve tried (still trying) a few (more than a few) different angles and a lot of it has been bullshit.I mean, it is what it is.

1. I’ve tried writing boring-ass articles on subjects that I can speak about in person but when I try to write an op-ed piece on it, I flounder and end up wallowing in despair for an entire week just trying to throw a few words together. For the most part, I’m done with the article thing. I’m over it unless Bobby from http://GeekyUniverse.com sends me an email. Then I’ll get to despairing but I can write stuff for him A: Because most of the time it’s something I know about and some of the time it’s something I actually give a shit about and B: I’m going to attempt to call in a favor when I finally get a completed comic proposal finished. Which leads me to number two.

2. I’m trying to break into the writing business through comic books. Currently, Ive got a slew of them on the burner.

I’ve got Tun Myo Hlaing of http://www.tunhlaing.com working on 2 (and hopefully a third and final) three page prologues starring Savyer City’s first serial killer, X. I’ll post the lo-res pics up here soon. They are amazing. I have to send them off to get lettered and then I can send an X package off as a proposal for a Savyer City Stories comic. I’m A Geek Ent. is going to be my first stop, but I have a lot of others in mind, as well. (You know what they say about eggs and baskets.)

I’ve got the extremely talented Westley James Smith doing the art for 1 (possibly three) stories about both my youngest protagonist and my oldest villain, Hoody.

I’ve got Fletcher Horton finishing up work on my short story, The Good Samaritan, which is sure to shock people with a surprise twist ending that will make your brain explode…or just blow your mind. I wasn’t sure which one sounded better so I just used them both.

I just put the Gotcha! story up on this blog, but I’m beginning to think the artist I contacted is no longer interested. This is a sad day for Gotcha!… Unless I can find another artist for her! So I contacted Hazel at http://accidentblackspot-haze.blogspot.com/ who actually contacted me awhile ago but I don’t think I ever got back to her even though her art (really, her entire portfolio, although relatively small) is pretty amazing. Very thought provoking stuff and she would absolutely murder (or moidelize, as Rocksteady would say) the art on the fourteen page Gotcha! one-shot.

And why the hell can’t I find someone who wants to draw Suicide Dave?!

Okay, there are more but I will get into the details of those projects later. So far, I haven’t pitched a complete proposal just yet. I have sent comic scripts (and received nothing back) … (at all), but I have not sent off a full, penciled, colored, inked, lettered book yet and that is what I am waiting for on that front. Hell, I could get a job at Marvel (right) or Image (okay) any day after that is done. (Right.)

3. I’ve written six 30 to 50 page episodes in screenplay format for a possible cartoon titled The Life and Times of Elvis the Zombie which is probably the most fun I’ve had writing anything in a looong time. Apparently, six eps are all you need to start shopping an idea for a show around to networks. I hope that works out as well for me as it probably will for the creators. I’m on ep. 2 of my follow up for http://thehigheruniverse.com (working) titled The Super Support Group.

And now after penning scripts and screenplays and comics and articles (and generally busting my proverbial hump), I’ve got some pretty good, motherfucking news. Yours truly may be writing for an actual television show soon. A real one. The kind you watch. On TV. Yeah. With capital letters. TV.

The show is called Prince of Thieves — http://www.facebook.com/pages/Prince-of-Thieves/125313307547546 — and as of now it is a web series in need of writers, but in a few short months I may finally get to join the ranks of people on IMDb with writing credits. I’m going to go apply for my Writer’s Guild membership card right now so when the time comes I can walk right up to Ida, the greeter at SAM’s Club, with confidence and flash my membership with a cool smile. When I get my card, I’ll finally get to go inside that place.

Okay, I know what you want to say:

“Don’t get too excited, man. It hasn’t even happened, yet.” <– Antonio, the antagonist.

“But I’m saying. It WILL. Hell, it has to!” <– Me, the hopeful hero.

Besides, I’m the good guy. We always win, get the girl and ride off into the sunset.I’m going to be a member of a guild! I feel like Gambit or somebody. I’m not exactly in the thieves guild but I’m going to be writing about thieves. That is just too good a tie-in for this not to work out for me in every way I imagine.

Especially since I get to shop at SAM’s when this thing hits big and I get my guild membership card. What could possibly go wrong?

About superawesomevigilanteguy

I am a published (although still not quite a professional) comic/script/screenplay writer interested in telling some pretty weird, but ultimately thought provoking stories. I am currently sending a lot of stories to I'm a Geek Ent. so I am looking for artists interested in adding to their published portfolio. If so, email me at themostthrowed@gmail.com or message me here and I will be sure to get back to you ASAP. (function(d, s, id) { var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.src = "//connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js#xfbml=1"; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); }(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

